Posters & Abstracts

Abstracts & Awards

Abstracts & Awards

Showcase your abstract at the largest cardiovascular conference in the UK

Submitting guarantees great visibility for your work and the opportunity to interact with an engaged audience at the BCS Annual Conference. Reviewed by an expert panel, selected abstracts will also be published in a special edition of 'Heart' BMJ Journal. We strongly encourage you to submit your best work for consideration.

Abstract submission for all categories is now closed,  The closing date was Midnight, Sunday 20 March.

Abstract Categories

  • Basic Science Abstracts
  • Clinical Abstracts
  • Michael Davies Early Career Award (MDECA)
  • Young Investigator Award (YIA)

Full and further information and guidance are for abstract submission are listed below.

If you have any queries, email:

Clinical and Basic Science Instructions
Young Investigator Award Instructions
Michael Davies Early Career Award Instructions

Please note that if your submission for the Young Investigator Award is rejected, then it is not automatically entered into the clinical or basic science poster abstract submission.

It is advised that you submit this separately in the abstract submission process.

  • Only the presenting author of the abstract can present at the conference, you cannot co-present with another co-author
  • If there is a change in presenting author please email informing of the change
  • Once an abstract is fully submitted, it cannot be edited and no further changes can be made.
  • If you plan to make changes to your abstract, please click on the 'Save' button, which will allow you access, but please remember to fully submit your abstract before the deadline, otherwise it will be rejected.
  • Please make sure that all information is correctly entered during the submission process.
  • Please make sure that you upload a word version of your abstract during the submission process, as this will be used for admin purposes.
  • We cannot accept abstracts that have been accepted for publication elsewhere at the time of submission.
  • All abstract presenters please register as a 'Guest'  and choose the 'CCPUK/Abstract Presenter/Medical Student/Non-Faculty Member' option  when registering as this will get you free registration to the conference.

BCS Awards

Each year the British Cardiovascular Society gives out the following awards and prizes at our Annual Dinner or Closing ceremony, held during the BCS Annual Conference.

Mackenzie Medal

The Mackenzie Medal is awarded by the Society in recognition of outstanding service to British Cardiology. Two medals are given out each year, at the BCS Annual Conference.

Young Investigator Award

This prize was established by the Society to recognise excellence among young researchers intending to pursue a career in cardiovascular clinical medicine or research. Since 2001, the prize has been awarded and its winners reflect the diversity of research projects being submitted and judged.

The prize is currently £1500 for the winner and £500 for runners up.

The closing date for the competition will close at 17:00, Friday 18th March.

Sponsored by the British Heart Foundation

Michael Davies Early Career Award

This award is to honour researchers who have recently established themselves as independent investigators and who have made an outstanding contribution to cardiovascular science. It is open for applications from clinicians and non-clinicians who have an affiliation with a UK institution.

The award of £1500 and a certificate, is made at the Annual Conference. Unsuccessful applicants from previous years are encouraged to apply.

The closing date for applications will close at 17:00, Friday 18th March.

Sponsored by the British Heart Foundation