ST3 Cardiology Simulator Training

Designed for newly appointed trainees

As cardiology is very much a procedure-based specialty (often engaging in life threatening procedures) guidance from the GMC and HEE is to offer simulation training to newly appointed cardiology trainees in the interests of patient safety.

The British Cardiovascular Society, along with a number of LETBs, Deaneries and Trusts throughout England and Wales offers this training and courses are listed below.

Deaneries:
Northern

Venue: Newcastle, RVI & Freeman Hospital
Date: TBC
Contact: Katharine Nelson - kenelson@doctors.org.uk

Yorkshire

Venue: TBC
Date: TBC
Contact:
John Kurian- john.kurian@bthft.nhs.uk

West Midlands

Venue: Birmingham
Date: TBC
Contact: Bethan Freestone - bethan.freestone@doctors.org.uk

Wessex, Severn, Peninsula and Wales

Venue: Taunton
Date: TBC
Contact: James Wilkinson - james.wilkinson@uhs.nhs.uk

East of England, Norwich

Venue: University of East Anglia and Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital
Date: TBC
Contact: Dr Vassilios Vassiliou- v.vassiliou@uea.ac.uk

London

Venue: Barts Heart Centre, London
Date: 29 Feb 2020 (registration deadline 15 Jan 2020)
Contact: bartsinterviewcourse@gmail.com

London (South)

Venue: GAPS Simulation Centre, St George's University of London
Date: TBC
Contact: Sohaib Nazir- sohaib.nazir@gmail.com

Venue: KSS
Date: TBC
Contact: Nikhil Patel - nikpatel.cardiologist@gmail.com

Important

Attendance is not mandatory (as simulation does not, as yet - constitute part of the National Curriculum) but is highly recommended by both the SAC in Cardiology and The British Cardiovascular Society.

Although every effort will be made to accommodate you at your local institution, places can fill up rapidly. Application to less geographically convenient courses may provide an alternative.